Giizhik
4/25/2014 02:54:57 am

I think this quote could be referring to Finny. Finny didn't evolve so he brakes his leg then gets broken. I think that Gene has evolved and turned into something else. He became a monster!

Reply
Lane
4/25/2014 02:55:24 am

The quote means exactly what it says. I would say that gene has been the one who evolved. I do not think that finny has evolved

Reply
Cal
4/25/2014 02:57:36 am

I think that Gene has evolved because he is turning into Finny by acting like he does and wearing his clothes. Finny hasn't evolved because he is still the same as he always has been. This isn't a bad thing because Finny still always looks on the bright side even with his injury.

Reply
matt
4/25/2014 02:57:42 am

the quote is very self explanatory and it means what it says and this isn't a very interesting. i think a school shouldn't be forcing people to read a book about gay people because that is not nice to force upon straight people.

Reply
Cat
4/25/2014 02:57:56 am

Okay so my thought in this quote is that its saying if we don't continue to change eventually everything that hasn't evolved to their situation will be gone.. or dead.. Gene is slowly evolving. Finny is not evolving in a good way but a bad way.. leper hits rock bottom

Reply
Shadow
4/25/2014 02:58:48 am

In life you have to evolve and work to fit your circumstances. If you don't evolve you can't move on very well. I don't think that Gene evolves because he just wants to move on and forget the past instead of learning to deal with it.

Reply
Sky
4/25/2014 02:59:11 am

I think that the quote might be referring to Finny when he falls out of the tree and breaks his leg. Gene is the one that has evolved and Finny has not evolved.

Reply
Casey
4/25/2014 02:59:34 am

I think the quote is saying that if certain things or people don't change, they won't do well. I think the quote refers to Gene. I don't think he's evolved, and I think Finny has.

Reply
danny
4/25/2014 02:59:43 am

gene haves evolved in to a better person and finny havin't evolved yet because he is mad a gene for the broken leg.

Reply
Blake
4/25/2014 02:59:59 am

I think Gene has evolved because he's acting more like Finny and doing things that Finny did. Finny hasn't evolved because he acts the way he always does.

Reply
Rachel
4/25/2014 03:01:32 am

I think this means survival of those who are willing to adapt. In this book I think Gene is evolving the most. He is mentally evolving into Finny. Finny is evolving in another way, though. He is adapting because of his handicap, but I believe the "original" Finny is still there.

Reply
Kimberly
4/25/2014 03:02:13 am

Gene was envolved and finny parishes him.idk

Reply
Michaela
4/25/2014 03:02:31 am

I think that this means that if you don't adapt to the situation you will just get overwhelmed. Gene hasn't evolved that much and Finny has evolved more.

Reply
Kimberly
4/25/2014 03:02:36 am

I agree with shadow!!

Reply
Brigette
4/25/2014 03:02:51 am

In this Novel the quote means that everything has to evolve or you don't move on in life. I think Gene hasn't evolved very much. This is because he doesn't just move along and try to fix things. He has to learn to deal with things and move on from them.

Reply
Rachel
4/25/2014 03:02:56 am

I agree, Sky. I think Gene is the one who is evolving and Finny has pretty much stayed the same (inside at least).

Reply
Miranda
4/25/2014 03:03:11 am

I think that Finny has evolved because he looks at the bright sides of the situations. Gene has evolved into Finny with the fact that he is wearing Finny's clothes and getting ready to do the 1944 Olympics. Which is a long time away in the book.

Reply
Drew
4/25/2014 03:03:18 am

I think this quote is talking about Finny. Finny needs to learns how to work with his broken leg.

Reply
Miranda
4/25/2014 03:04:23 am

I agree with you Brigette. I believed that Gene needs to be more open about things.

Reply
a certain eighth grader from Brentwood School
12/12/2016 07:35:38 pm

I think that Gene has not evolved. He is stuck in one place and refuses to admit his wrong doing. And when he does, he does so in a way that makes him look crazy. Gene also refuses to move on about the jouncing of the limb. He won't stop worrying about it. I also think that this quote has a lot to do with a quote from the work of literature, Inherit the Wind. When Drummond says to Brady, Maybe it is you who has moved away by standing still. Drummond is saying that he and Brady have grown more distant because he himself has evolved, but B rady refuses to.

Reply
a 10th grader
5/29/2019 04:39:33 pm

I think this was for some teachers class lol

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    The 10th graders' favorite English teacher.

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    April 2013

    Categories

    All